Kolida Babo set to release self-titled LP via MIC

Twistedsoul ~ Kolida Babo

Greek woodwind musicians Socratis Votskos and Harris P, aka Kolida Babo are gearing up for the release of their self-titled debut album in April via MIC.

The distinctive sound you’ll hear across the 8-track project is the Armenian Duduk – a double reeded woodwind instrument made of apricot wood, accompanied by a dum, and a Moog synthesiser.

The duo draws Influence from Armenian folk music, Greek Rebetiko, German Kosmiche, spiritual jazz, Brian Eno, John Hassell, British trip-hop, and West African funk.

The LP took three years to make and was recorded in improvised live-take sessions beginning on the night of the “Kolida Babo” folk rituals of music and dance in northern Greece in winter 2013.

Listen to ‘Exodus’ the closing track from the forthcoming record, a deeply meditative affair that blends spine-shivering electronics and gorgeous spiritual jazz vibes.

An absolute gem – the album can’t come soon enough!                                                 


1. The Epirus Lodge
2. Kolida Babo
3. Kolida Arabesque
4. Join The Moog
5. Waltz In G Minor
6. Kolida Grotesque
7. Kolida Serenity
8. Exodus

Kolida Babo by Kolida Babo is out 05/04 via MIC. Pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply