Alfa Mist preps new album, Structuralism

Twistedsoul ~ Alfa Mist

Having collaborated with Yussef Dayes last autumn on ‘Love Is The Message’, and ‘Blacked Out’, East London pianist, composer and producer Alfa Mist has shared a track from his highly anticipated second album.

Ear-catching and evocative all at once, the lead track entitled ‘Retainer’ showcases both his hip-hop roots and his flair for dramatic jazz soundscapes. Love the way he expertly moves between different moods across the near-seven-minute composition.

Speaking about the album and his battles with self and the societal pressures Alfa Mist says: “I have been affected by my environment. My upbringing has shaped me in a way where I do not know how to communicate. Structuralism is about, “I am who I am” because of the structure of society I grew up into. Now I need to learn how to communicate.”

The new LP called Structuralism follows his 2017 debut Antiphon and features contributions from Jordan Rakai and Kaya Thomas-Dyke, who also created the striking album artwork.

‘Retainer’ is out now via Sekito, and can be streamed below.



1. 44
2. Falling Feat. Kaya Thomas-Dyke
3. Mulago
4. Glad I Lived
5. Jjajja’s Screen
6. Naiyti
7. Retainer
8. Door Feat. Jordan Rakei

Structuralism LP is out on 27/04 via Sekito. Order a copy here.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply