Cykada EP next on Astigmatic Records

Twistedsoul ~ Cykada

Get familiar with London-based six-piece Cykada, and their blazing new track ‘Dimension Stepper’ lifted off their upcoming self-titled EP.

Comprising of members of Maisha, Ezra Collective, Myriad Forest, Undergrooveland and Don Kipper the line-up includes the talents of Jamie Benzies on bass, Tilé Gichigi-Lipere on keys/programming, Tim Doyle on drums, Axel Kaner-Lidstrom on trumpet, James Mollison on sax and Javi Pérez on guitar.

Recorded in December 2017 at the Total Refreshment Centre, over five tracks the band mixes influences from jazz greats John Coltrane, Pharaoh Sanders and Sun Ra with afrobeat, electronic, and rock.

Pack with high-energy intensity lead track ‘Dimension Stepper’ is a blast from start to finish. The band effortlessly glide between some searing drumming, nimble bass work, spacey keys, slick guitar and infectious bursts of sax and trumpet that make for a spellbinding musical trip!

The EP is out 5th April on the ever impressive Astigmatic Records. Take a look at the artwork and tracklisting below. Pre-order here.

Cykada - Cykada EP


1. Creation
2. Dimension Stepper
3. Ophelia’s Message
4. Realise
5. Third Eye Thunder

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply