Dexter Story returns with new album, Bahir on Soundway Records

Twistedsoul - Dexter Story

Multi-instrumentalist Dexter Story returns to Soundway Records with his brilliant new single, ‘Shuruba Song’ the first taste off Bahir his forthcoming album.

According to the man himself, the album is “a snapshot of the last few years of my immersive study of the Horn of Africa”. He continues “Bahir was me trying to walk the walk, too, not just borrow. I was trying in some way to contribute and embrace.”

Sudan Archives, Josef Leimberg, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Endeguena Mulu and Ethiopian singer Hamelmal Abate are among the guest artists contributing to the upcoming LP, out on March 15th.

Check out ‘Shuruba Song’ and the album’s tracklist below. Can’t wait!


1. Techawit
2. Bila (feat. Kibrom Birhane)
3. Gold (feat. Sudan Archives)
4. Ras (feat. Haile Supreme)
5. Mamdooh
6. Buna Be Chow (feat. Jimetta Rose)
7. Electric Gurage
8. Jijiga Jijiya (feat. Marie Daulne)
9. Chemin De Fer
10. Desta’s Groove
11. Shuruba Song (feat. Hamelmal Abate)
12. Bahir (feat. Endeguena Mulu)
13. Abebaye (feat. Marie Daulne)


Bahir arrives on 15/03 via Soundway. Pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply