Moses Boyd announces new album Displaced Diaspora

Twistedsoul - Moses Boyd

Drummer and producer Moses Boyd is releasing a new project called Displaced Diaspora via his Exodus Records imprint next month.

The tracks featured on the album come from the same sessions that brought us his best-known track Rye Lane Shuffle.

Recorded in 2015 the nine tracks compiled on the LP feature regular collaborators Theon Cross, Nubya Garcia, Zara McFarlane and Nathaniel Cross. Also appearing on the project are singer Terri Walker, saxophonist and bata player Kevin Haynes and his Grupo Eleggua as well as rapper Louis VI.

In June, Boyd hooked up with jazz saxophonist Binker Golding and released Alive In The East‘ their third collaborative project which Gearbox Records described as being “full of vehement improvisation and shamanic spiritual free jazz trances”. 

Showcasing his versatility, lead track ‘Frontline’ is a more afro jazz-oriented cut – a highly percussive groover that builds with frantic energy as more and more layers of sound unfold and introduce themselves.

Listen to ‘Frontline’ featuring Kevin Haynes Grupo Eleggua above and check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Moses Boyd- Displaced Diaspora


01. Rush Hour / Elegua
02. Frontline
03. Rye Lane Shuffle
04. Drum Dance
05. Axis Blue
06. City Nocturne
07. Waiting On The Night Bus
08. Marooned In S.E. 6
09. Ancestors

Displaced Diaspora arrives on 28/09 with Exodus Records – pre-order from Kudos.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply