Phil France unveils new album Circle with title track

Twistedsoul - Phil France

Composer, bassist and producer Phil France will release his second LP, Circle, on Gondwana Records later this month.

You can get a glimpse of things to come by listening to the emotive title track below.

The Manchester-based artist is probably best known as a critical collaborator alongside Jason Swinscoe in The Cinematic Orchestra, where he co-wrote, arranged and produced on classic albums including Everyday, Man With The Movie Camera, Ma Fleur and also the triple award-winning soundtrack for The Crimson Wing nature documentary.

Five years on from his debut album The Swimmer the new project is an extension of work he began on his debut. A process he has described as: “ blocks of sound containing intricate minimal arpeggiated patterns and electronic textures that develop and shift in subtle, original and melodic ways.”

The nine-song album is released on August 31st on CD, vinyl, and digital download. Pre-order the EP here; check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Circle
2. Bells
3. River
4. Prophet
5. Mr Jackal
6. The First Thing That You Say
7. Cathedrals
8. The Breaks
9. Circle (reprise)

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply