Ishmael Ensemble share new two-track release

Following up on last year’s fantastic LP Song’s For Knotty, after the evolution from solo Ishmael to the expanded Ensemble, the Severn Songs series marks the most full-bodied and ambitious project yet from multi-instrumentalist and DJ, Pete Cunningham.

This, the first 7″ of three in the series, sees the band deliver two excellent pieces of electronic jazz. ‘The Chapel’ starts as a glimmer on the horizon, yet develops into a war cry. Cosmic synth’s gurgle and fill the initially sparse atmosphere, before being subsumed by overlapping sax lines. The second track, ‘Full Circle’ bring things back down to earth. Busy, clipped drums are encircled by synthetic flurries, culminating in a climactic release.

Twistedsoul - Ishmael Ensemble

Stream the two-track release below and while you’re at it, watch the accompanying video for ‘The Chapel’ directed by Amie Nowlan above.

Ishameal Ensemble:

Pete Cunningham: Saxophone, Synthesizers, Keys
Chris Hillier: Keys
Holly Wellington: Piano
Stephen Mullins: Guitar
Jake Spurgeon: Bass
Rory O’Gorman: Drums
Jackson Lapes: Percussion


The Chapel is out now – buy from SOTU or Bandcamp.



CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply