Guest Mix: Yakul

This week we have a guest mix from Yakul.

This week we have a guest mix from Yakul.

Following their storming debut year in 2017, the Brighton-based band recently returned with the smooth, soulful sounds of ‘Realigned’.

The band is comprised of James Berkeley (vocals/keys), Tom Caldwell-Nichols (bass), Sam Hughes (drums), and newest member Leo Utton (guitar).YakulWith a rich sound that combines jazz infused neo-soul with smooth vocals, Yakul is definitely a band to look out for.

For their exclusive Twistedsoul mix, they have put together a mix of current influences. Unfortunately for Creed fans, it doesn’t contain any of their music.

As well as serving up an excellent assortment of tunes they also took time out to answer a few questions.

Check it all out below and enjoy!


For those that are new to you. How did you guys meet? What does each member bring to Yakul?

We were the sole survivors of a battle royale style gameshow, each bringing our own elemental power, respectively, of earth, wind, fire and water to overcome the enemy. We try and bring this same level of intensity and commitment to Yakul.


We loved Realigned – when can we expect to hear more of your music?

Thanks! We’re planning on bookending the summer with another single, so as long as that all goes to plan, we’ll be dropping that sometime in July. After that, it’ll be a build to an ep still shrouded in mystery.


Tell us a bit about the mix?

It’s a general mix of all of our current influences and inspirations. I was hoping to showcase some of the biggest and best Creed hits (previously cited as main influence), but somewhere along the way, this seems to have been vetoed.


You have a live show coming up at the Jazz Cafe. What can we expect from a Yakul live show?

It’s a post-modern satire taking the audience on a journey through the complexities of the current socio-political climate and the ever-present existential and metaphysical implications of consciousness and the futile struggle of societal rehabilitation there in.. Nah not really, we just play our tunes loudly. Come see us to uncover these mysteries. We’re doing a Musiq Soulchild Songbook at The Jazz Cafe this Thursday 31st May, which would be a perfect time to see us. We’ve got a 9 piece band for it, as well as some features. We’ll also be doing an 8 piece band for Love Supreme, and El Dorado Festival at the end of June, hopefully, see you there.

For tickets to their upcoming shows head here.



1. Kiefer – Evil Eye
2. Allen Kingdom (Feat. Spooky Black) – Wavey
3. Homeshake – Call Me Up
4. Kaytranada – Killa Cats
5. Tyler, The Creator – See You Again
6. Emefe – Stutter
7. Madvillain – Meat Grinder
8. A Tribe Called Quest – Butter
9. Slum Village – The Look Of Love Pt.1
10. Badbadnotgood (Feat. Kaytranada) – Lavender
11. Braxton Cook – Somewhere In Between
12. Yussef Kamaal – Lowrider
13. Ashley Henry – Pressure
14. Anderson Paak – The Bird


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply