Stream ‘Discourse II’ from the upcoming Tourist Kid album on Melody As Truth

Tourist Kid - Crude Tracer

Since kicking off in late 2014 Jonny Nash’s imprint Melody As Truth has been releasing quality after quality, and this new project from Tourist Kid is no exception.

The Melbourne based producer will drop his new album ‘Crude Tracer‘ on May 11th.

According to the press release, the album was recorded in Perth and Melbourne between 2016 and 2017. Though the idea of movement between two places could be a somewhat romantic afterthought, a more palpable sense of dislocated unease creeps up on the listener throughout the album.

Tourist Kid’s production encompasses all manner of tangible and otherworldly sounds as a vehicle to explore something far more intriguing than a simple instrumental fetish – so much so that the overwhelming sting of blasted detritus or a broken and bent vocal is capable of eliciting such delicate impulses as glistening, heart-wrenching piano chords. It’s a unique – and very special – kind of beauty that Tourist Kid gracefully achieves with ‘Crude Tracer’.

On ‘Discourse II’, stutters of digital trash segue seamlessly into a plateau of serene, glassy ambience.

Stream below.


1. Example
2. Discourse II
3. Learn
4. Variegare
5. Know
6. UV Bleacher Tangent
7. Bacterial
8. Petrol


Crude Tracer is set for release 11/05, pre-order a copy from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply