Tenderloious announces debut album The Shakedown featuring 22archestra


'The Shakedown' is the debut album from Tenderlonious and features a new band - the dream team of top talent he named the 22archestra.

Up next on 22a is the ‘The Shakedown‘ the debut album from Ed ‘Tenderlonious‘ Cawthorne and his new band – the dream team of top talent he named the 22archestra.

The Shakedown follows Tenderlonious’ collaborative project 8R1CK C17Y with Dennis Ayler, as well as his recent Ruby Rushton album’s Trudi’s Songbook: Volume One and Trudi’s Songbook: Volume Two.

Mixing jazz with hip-hop, afrobeat and Latin influences, the 9-track album showcases the full breadth of the band’s technical and compositional skills – from the keys, to the flute, to the drums, and everything in between everything is on point.

The band led by Tenderlonious on (flute & synth) features Hamish Balfour (Keys), Fergus Ireland (Bass), Yussef Dayes (Drums), Jeen Bassa (Percussion), Reginald Omas Mamode IV (Percussion) and Konrad (Percussion).

At nearly six-minutes long the lead track, ‘Yussef’s Groove’” floats blissfully to our ears with an ever-shifting soundbed that takes in explosive drums, warm flute flurries, low-slung bass, chic open piano solos and hazy electric piano.

Head to 22a’s Bandcamp page to pre-order the album. It’s available on vinyl or as a digital download.

The Shakedown is out on 15th June. Listen to ‘Yussef’s Groove’ and check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Tenderlonious - The Shakedown


1. Expansions
2. Yussef’s Groove
3. Togo
4. SV Interlude
5. The Shakedown
6. Maria
7. You Decide
8. SV Disco
9. Red Sky At Night

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply