Emma-Jean Thackray will release her new EP Ley Lines via The Vinyl Factory next month

 Emma-Jean Thackray - Ley Lines EP

Emma -Jean Thackray released one of our favourite EP‘s a few years back, and late last week she announced her eagerly awaited new EP Ley Lines.

Pulling inspiration from music legends like Madlib, Art Ensemble of Chicago and Fela Kuti, the rising star of the UK jazz scene recorded the new project single-handedly in her home studio.

“I wanted to step away from my work as a bandleader and do something self-contained. I love improvising in the moment with a band, but wanted to take the chance to create at my own pace and be true to my own vision”, she says.

The first glimpse from the EP ‘Red Bush’  is a slow burner filled with restrained jazzy and sultry grooves that build nicely.

If the EP’s as good as this track, and we’re sure it will be then we’re in for a real treat!

Check out lead track ‘Read Bush” and the tracklist below.



A1. Make Do
A2. Howley
A3. Red Bush
A4. Catford Bridge
B1. Ley Lines
B2. Rain Dance
B3. The End
B4. Outro



Ley Lines is out May 11th via The Vinly Factory – pre-order from their website.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply