Suzanne Menzel’s rare 1981 album reissued for the first time by Frederiksberg Records

Suzanne Menzel's elusive 1981 album reissued for the first time

Frederiksberg Records have finally reissued Danish singer-songwriter Suzanne Menzel ‘s first and only album Goodbyes and Beginnings.

The much sought-after album features production from Danish New-Age pioneer, Klaus Schønning’s, who blends a futuristic soundscape of new-age, 60’s inspired folk music.

“Goodbyes and Beginnings” sits at the cross-section of many genres. Menzel’s voice is as timeless as her heartfelt, sombre lyrics. While Schønning’s synthesiser, organ and rhythm computers offer a playful contrast. The beautiful tension between them creates a fresh, unique sound and makes “Goodbyes and Beginnings” hard to categorise even today.

You can listen to the album below via the Bandcamp player and order a vinyl copy here.


1. Farewell, Nancy
2. Goodbyes And Beginnings
3. What A Winter’s Day
4. Under The Surface
5. I Feel It Starts Again
6. This Is Not Your Life
7. She Was A Really Beautiful Lady
8. The Ghost
9. Winter Comes
10. On The Corner Of July
11. Summer Rain
12. The Advertising Song

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.