Reissue: Zazou, Bikaye and CY1 – Noir Et Blanc

Zazou, Bikaye & CY1 – Noir et Blanc

Belgian label Crammed Discs recently reissued Zazou, Bikaye and CY1’s seminal 1983 album Noir Et Blanc on vinyl for the first time since its release.

Recorded in 1983 this collaboration between experimental electronic music composers CY1, Congolese musician/vocalist Bony Bikaye, and French composer Hector Zazou, resulting in an incredible afro-industrial fusion album.

Since its release 34 years ago generations of fans, musicians and DJs have  discovered/rediscovered this essential album that was once famously described as “Fela Kuti-meets-Kraftwerk-on-the-dancefloor.”

The vinyl reissue comes fully remastered from the original analogue tapes. The release also includes a 24-page booklet with new contributions by the participants and previously unreleased demos and remixes.



1. M’Pasi Ya M’Pamba
2. Mangungu
3. Dju Ya Feza
4. Munipe Wa Kati
5. Eh! Yaye
6. Mama Lenvo
7. Lamuka
8. Keba
9. Woa


Crammed Discs’ reissue of Noir Et Blanc is out now – buy from Phonica or Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply