Onyx Collective announces new EP, shares first taste ‘Fruit Stand’


Onyx Collective

Founded by saxophonist Isaiah Barr in 2014, New York City jazz ensemble Onyx Collective are set to make their proper debut through the release of three projects (two EPs and an LP) via Big Dada.

Having quietly released their debut album 2nd Ave Rundown on vinyl via Supreme last year,  the recordings that make up the new releases are taken from the collective’s performances over the past year.

Our first taste of the three-part release is Lower East Suite Part One due out this Friday and lead track “Fruit Stand” is calm and peaceful late night jazz at its best.

An intriguing slow-burning gem, murmurs of upright-bass, with hypnotic waves of sax and gentle percussion are all lovingly twisted together to leave the listener in a meditative state.

Stream “Fruit Stand” and check out tracklist for Lower East Suite Part One down below.



1. Color Images
2. East River
3. Fruit Stand
4. 172 Forsyth St.
5. 175 Canal St.
6. Mambo Pancakes
7. The Mask
8. Market St.



Lower East Suite Part One is out October 27th via Big Dada – pre-order from Ninja Tune.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply