Reissue: Rapture – Israel Suite / Dominante En Bleu

Rupture - Israel Suite : Dominante En BleuThis extremely rare album concept album by Rapture is one not to be missed.  Recorded in 1973 over a period of three months the result was released as a very limited private pressing with help from the Futura label. The band lead by French songwriter Boris Bergman (France Gall, Dalida, etc) featured some of the best musicians from the European jazz scene. The line up included drummer and singer Sylvain Krief (Airto Fogo, Michel Fugain, Aznavour, Clark Terry, Bud Powell, etc), Jean-François Jenny-Clark (Don Cherry, Steve Lacy, etc) on bass, Georges Locatelli (Total Issue) on guitar, Jean-Pierre Mas (piano, organ, guitar, vocals…).  Arranged by Sylvain Krief and Jean-Pierre Mas, “Israel Suite” included an 18 minute suite on side A and shorter songs on Side B. This amazing album about the history of Israel is a wonderful heady brew of vocal / spiritual jazz, funk, progressive, jazz-pop, psych. Seriously if you’re a jazz head, wanting something a bit left of centre, look no further…   



A1. Israel Suite

B1. Mes Histories Bleues

B2. Voyage Sous La Mer

B3. Alice Aux Miroirs

B4. Autre Fois

B5. Entre Ses Cils



Israel Suite / Dominante En Bleu is out now via SOMMER – buy from SOTU or Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply