Album: Boombox Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 79 – 82


Boombox Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 79 - 82


Via Sound Of The Universe:

Soul Jazz Records’ new ‘Boombox’ features some of the many innovative underground first-wave of rap records made in New York in the period 1979-82, all released on small, independent, often family-concern record companies, at a time when hip-hop music still remained under the radar.

This first exuberant wave of innocent, upbeat, ‘party on the block’ rap records were the first to try and create the sounds heard in community centres, block parties and street jams that first took place in the Bronx in the mid-1970s. But where Flash, Kool Herc and Bambaataa were back-spinning, mixing and scratching together now classic breakbeat records like The Incredible Bongo Band’s ‘Apache’ or Babe Ruth’s ‘The Mexican’, these first rap records were all made using live bands, often replaying then current disco tunes, whilst MCs rapped over the top, creating a unique sound that later became known derisively as ‘old school’.

Boombox Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 79 - 82

And while hip-hop started in the Bronx, rap on vinyl began in Harlem where long-time established rhythm and blues producer-owned record companies such as Joe Robinson’s Enjoy Records, Paul Winley’s Winley Records, Delmar Donnel’s Delmar International and Jack ‘Fatman’ Taylor’s Rojac and Tayster were the first off the mark to realise the commercial potential of rap music – releasing early ground-breaking records that all quickly followed in the wake of the first rap record, The Sugarhill Gang’s Rappers Delight, a million-selling worldwide hit.

This collection celebrates these first old-school rap records, bringing together rare, classic and obscure tracks released in the early days of rap.



01. Mr Sweety G – ‘At The Place To Be’
02. Love Bug Star-Ski And The Harlem World Crew – ‘Positive Life’
03. Neil B – ‘Body Rock’
04. Super 3 – ‘Philosophy Rappin’ Spree’
05. Bramsam – ‘Move Your Body’
06. Black Bird & Kevski – ‘On The Go’
07. Count Coolout – ‘Rhythm Rap Rock’ (CD only)
08. Harlem World Crew – ‘Rappers Convention’
09. Willie Wood & The Willie Wood Crew – ‘Willie Rap’
10. Bon-Rock & The Rhythm Rebellion – ‘Searching Rap’
11. Sugar Daddy – ‘One More Time’
12. Spoonie Gee And The Treacherous Three – ‘The New Rap Language’
13. TJ Swan – ‘And You Know That’
14. Portable Patrol – ‘Cop Bop’
15. Master Jay – ‘We Are People Too’
16. Sweet G – ‘Boogie Feelin’ Rap’
17. Mistafide – ‘Equidity Funk’




Boombox: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 79 – 82 is out now (buy)

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply