Stream: Charlie Hilton – Funny Anyway

Charlie Hilton - Funny Anyway
Photo by Brianne Wills

Blouse’s Charlie Hilton will release her debut solo album Palanga next Friday via Captured Tracks. It includes the wonderfully minimal track “Funny Anyway”. The album was produced by Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Jacob Portrait, apart from “100 Million” featuring Mac-Demaco which was produced by Woods’ Jarvis Taveniere. The album is said to cover a range of moods and recalls several of Hilton’s key influences — the solemn beauty of Nico, the whimsical nature of Marc Bolan, and the naïveté of Jonathan Richman. The music on this record is diverse, but so is the inside of a person. I feel like I’m many people.”  Take a listen to “Funny Anyway” below. It’s a is truly stark track, featuring only string accompaniments, with Hilton assuming a role akin to a confessional French chanteuse.


Charlie Hilton


1. Palana
2. Something For Us All
3. Pony
4. Long Goodbye
5. Funny Anyway
6. WHY
7. Lets Go To A Party
8. Snow
9. The Young
10. No One Will
11. 100 Million (feat. Mac DeMarco)


Hilton’s debut album, Palana, is out 22nd January via Captured Tracks.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply