Mbongwana Star mix Congolese rhythms with post-punk and electronics.

Mbongwana Star

Mbongwana Star, a newly formed 7-piece band from the Democratic Republic of Congo, are preparing for the release of their debut album, ‘From Kinshasa’. Tired of the pre-conceptions around African music, Mbongwana Star (‘Mbongwana’ means ‘change’) are creating their own identity, fusing traditional Congolese rhythms with post punk and electronics. Rhythms are laid bare, voices honed, guitars given a new sonic garb. Mbongwana Star are bringing something really special with their music, it’s brave, experimental and very refreshing – definitely deserves your attention. Take a listen below, you won’t be disappointed. 

From Kinshasa is released via World Circuit on May 18th.

Mbongwana Star - From Kinshasa


1. From Kinshasa to the Moon
2. Shégué
3. Nganshé
4. Masobélé
5. Coco Blues
6. Malukayi (feat. Konono N°1)
7. Suzanna
8. Kimpala Pala
9. Kala
1. 1 Million c’est quoi?

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply