Introducing Daymé Arocena


Introducing Brownswood’s latest signing 22-year-old Cuban singer Daymé Arocena. Last year she appeared on 3 tracks on the Havana Cultura mix project which saw Gilles Peterson mentoring selected producers from around the world to make a record in Cuba. Seeing huge potential in her, Gilles invited her to London to perform at the album launch event, where she enchanted the packed out audience, and it was decided she should record a solo project for Brownswood Recordings / Havana Cultura. The announcement brought out a loud, rich, infectious laugh instantly recognisable as Dayme’s deep and chocolaty voice. “My first record, here,” she squeals. “It’s a crazy dream.”

Recorded in just a few days in London and Havana Daymé’s debut album is a work of elegant maturity, showcasing Daymé’s mix of influences . A strong jazz influence is clear throughout her music,  “I started to listen to all the old singers even when I didn’t like them,” she revealed: “I don’t want to sound like an old woman!”.  Her debut album Nueva Era,was recorded in Cuba and produced by Daymé herself. For the rest of the record Daymé is backed by a world class London band (Percussionist Oli Savill, Robert Mitchell on piano, and Neil Charles on bass). Production duties are split between Gilles Peterson, his longtime collaborator Simbad and Daymé herself. Listen to four tracks below, and don’t forget to get Nueva Era when it drops in June!

Dayme Arocena - Nueva Era

1. Madres
2. Crystal
3. Don’t Unplug My Body
4. Sin Empezar
5. Dust
6. Come to Me
7. Drama
8. El Ruso
9. Niño
10. Nueva Era

Nueva Era is out 8th June on Brownswood Recordings.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply