Gilles Peterson presents Melanie De Biasio: No Deal Remixed


Melanie De Biasio‘s 2013 album ‘No Deal’ has been given the remix treatment by a range of producers and musicians. World renowned Gilles Peterson has curated a new remix version of her acclaimed album. He called upon some of the most exciting names across the jazz, electronic and indie worlds for ‘No Deal Remixed’, including EELS, Clap! Clap!, The Cinematic Orchestra, Jonwayne and Seven Davis Jr.

EELS haunting, orchestral reworking of opening track I Feel You is the first ever remix by Mark Oliver Everett (AKA E), who fell in love with De Biasio’s music when she supported EELS at the Royal Albert Hall in June. The Cinemantic Orchestra give I’m Gonna Leave You an intense reworking, while beat maker C. Crisci, a.k.a Clap! Clap! gives the same track an afro-beat slant. Seven Davis Jr gives title-track No Deal an old school house flavour, while LA’s Jonwayne coats With All My Love a lush balm of hip-hop. Japan’s Toshio Matsuura (AKA Hex) adds an impressive urgency to The Flow, whilst France’s modern classical composer Chassol provides a downtempo and discordant take on Sweet Darling Pain.

Peterson explained, “To my mind, of all the new artists around, the most remix friendly has to be Melanie De Biasio. For a person like me with a DJ mind, the minimalism of ‘No Deal’ makes it perfect. I’ve been dropping ‘I Feel You’ on top of beats anyway and even played ‘I’m Gonna Leave You’ in its original form when the moment arose – it’s such a pure track. In fact the first thing I did on meeting Melanie for the first time this year was to ask her who produced the album. It was me she replied… so not just a pretty voice!”

You can stream the entire album below. If you want to purchase this album, you can grab it on iTunes now.

1. I Feel You (EELS Remix)
2. The Flow (Hex Remix)
3. No Deal (Seven Davis Jr Remix)
4. With Love / Sweet Darling Pain (Gilles Peterson & Sinbad Remix)
5. Sweet Darling Pain (Chassol Remix)
6. I’m Gonna Leave You (Clap! Clap! Remix)
7. With All My Love (Jonwayne Remix)
8. I’m Gonna Leave You (The Cinematic Orchestra Remix)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply