Stream D’Angelo’s new album Black Messiah, his first in 14 years


The Neo soul legend that is D’Angelo has made good on  the promise made by his manager Kevin Liles with his first studio album in fourteen years. Since news broke late last week that D’Angelo would be releasing his first studio album since 2000′s Voodoo, the long-awaited Black Messiah album has arrived. The album is available for purchase on iTunes and can be streamed below via Spotify. D’Angelo had this to say about the concept behind Black Messiah:

‘Black Messiah’ is a hell of a name for an album. It can be easily misunderstood. Many will think it’s about religion. Some will jump to the conclusion that I’m calling myself a Black Messiah. For me the title is about all of us. It’s about the world. It’s about an idea we can all aspire to. We should all aspire to be a Black Messiah. It’s about people rising up in Ferguson and in Egypt and in Occupy Wall Street and everyplace where a community has had enough and decides to make change happen. It’s not about praising one charismatic leader but celebrating thousands of them. Not every song on this album is politically charged (though many are) but calling this album Black Messiah creates a landscape where these songs can live to the fullest. Black Messiah is not one man. It’s a feeling that, collectively, we are all that leader.”

What you waiting for? Get streaming.

01 Ain’t That Easy
02 1000 Deaths
03 The Charade
04 Sugah Daddy
05 Really Love
06 Back in the Future (Part I)
07 Till It’s Done (Tutu)
08 Prayer
09 Betray My Heart
10 The Door
11 Back in the Future (Part II)
12 Another Life

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply