Album Of The Week: Rochelle Jordan – 1021 Album


The wait is over. Rochelle Jordan’s 1021 is here and it’s everything I hoped it would be. When she released her impressive debut LP, Pressure in 2012 the first thing I thought was, how can this be free? It was that strong. Following up an LP as good as Pressure is no mean feat, but Rochelle along with long-time producer KLSH have dropped one of the strongest R&B releases of the year. With this release, the duo prove once again that contemporary R&B can have the vibe and feel of past times, yet at the same time be musically challenging and very progressive. She had me at the title track with her sultry vocals backed by airy production. A sublime beginning that leads us into the rest of the project. Shortly after, I got to “Follow Me” and was totally blown away. It’s a sexy club song about looking for that perfect someone, who’s staring you in the face, but you can’t see her. Other notable tracks include “Good One,” “401,” “What The Fuss,” “Ease Your Mind” and my personal favourite “Lowkey.” Blood sweat and tears went into this album and Jordan gives us that on every song. This new offering shows Jordan at her most honest, with songwriting heavier than on former projects (Rojo, Pressure).

“I wanted to create a project that represents who I am in more ways than one,” she told Billboard. “The numerology behind 1021, besides it being my birthday numbers, is extremely telling of where I am right now spiritually, mentally and career wise. The Libra in me had a field day writing these emotionally charged songs. It was only right that I built around [love] since I love love.”

“And [it’s] overall outlook on these emotional roller coasters I’ve been through these past years.”

1021 is a more than impressive offering that absorbs the listener and leaves them with a little piece of Jordan. Purchase the album via her website and enjoy.


1) 1021
2) Day Ones
3) Follow Me
4) Lowkey
5) Good One
6) There You Go
7) 401
8) Back In The Day
9) Only If
10) What The Fuss
11) Playa 4 Life (Feat. IAMSU)
12) Return To Sender
13) Ease Your Mind
14) Chain Smoking [Bonus Track]
15) Lowkey (Feat. JMSN) [Bonus Track]

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply