Album Of The Week: Paul White – Shaker Notes


Renowned and respected London beatsmith/producer Paul White will release his experimental yet accessible fourth solo album, Shaker Notes, on September 29th. Ahead of the release, R&S is streaming the album on Soundcloud, where you can listen to Shaker Notes up until the album drops. The album is his first for R&S, and sees White ditch the sampler for live drums, bass, guitar, synths and vocals. In an interview with Spare Hands, White spoke about changing his musical direction.

“This album isn’t like any of my previous records that have all been sample based! I wanted to write and play music again, you always want to keep changing and challenging yourself, not that I don’t still do that within beats and sampling, but I was going through alot whilst writing this album and I found the best way for me to get life out at the time was to pick up instruments again and just hit record and play and not sample!! So I feel pleased in that way like this is 100% all me and my soul! With some of my friends and family’s mixed in there on top too”

We’ve already heard two excellent singles, “Honey Cats” and “Where You Gonna Go,” and the rest of the album, on first listen, lives up to hype provided by those previews.

Listen below.




01. Intro
02. All We Know
03. Where You Gonna Go
04. Honey Cats
05. Wait and See
06. Running on a Rainy Day
07. Fighting to Dance
08. Is It Up To Us
09. Sitting in Circles
10. Numbers of Change
11. Shaker Notes

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply