Audio: Dorian Concept – Draft Culture

dorian-conceptAustrian producer Dorian Concept recently announced the follow-up to 2009′s When Planets Explode LP, with news that a new album entitled Joined End will be released on September 22nd. His second album Joined Ends is describe in the press release as “the biggest, boldest work of his career, and a sheer, technicolour audible joy”.

This time around, he has dropped his trademark MicroKorg in favour of a Wurlitzer and a handful of analogue synths, basing songs on live material that he sampled.

“The new gear was important because the MicroKorg had been my main production unit for a long time… It really tied me down to my old sound. I’ve always been a fan of reduction, so working with analogue gear was a way for me to put my focus back on playing. It feels like my first musical cycle is closing and the start of a new one”.

Along with lush instrumentation and pulsating rhythms, he also sings on the record: “I wanted my vocals to have a distant feel, to be somewhat inaudible and androgynous. For them to be something that you’d feel like humming rather than reciting – almost as if the vocals entered your mind as a memory.”

The upcoming LP marks a new era in sound for the Austrian producer and if the first leak is anything to go by – we’re in for something a bit special.

Stream ‘Draft Culture’ below,


1. The Sky Opposite
2. Ann River, Mn
3. Mint
4. Clap Track 4
5. Draft Culture
6. Schadentrauer
7. Nest Nest
8. The Few
9. Trophies
10. Do, Undo, Redo
11. 11.04.2012
12. Tried (Now Tired)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply