Between The Cracks: New & Notable Releases That Need Your Attention

With so much good music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for albums to drop online and go overlooked. Check out our weekly mini-guide to the essential releases you need to hear. Happy listening – and don’t forget to hit the links and support the artists.


BunnDebrettQuintet – BunnDebrettQuintet 2

Stephen Bunn and Jon deBrett, known for their distinctive sound and seductive jazz style, return with another album. Featuring musicians Neil Corcoran (bass), Nathan Haines (flute), Alan Barnes (bass clarinet & sax), Roger Beaujolais (vibes), Alastair Martin (trumpet), with spoken word from Tenesha the Wordsmith and Daniel Summerhill, it is a beautifully soothing jazz album that is the most soothing balm for troubled times.


London Odense Ensemble – Jaiyede Sessions Vol. 1

Talk about on a roll, Maisha’s Al McSween and Collocutor’s Tamar Osborn come through with another excellent collaborative record following the release of Flock‘s self-titled debut last month. A heady sonic brew is the result of the collaboration of the two talented players from London’s jazz and avant-garde scenes with Danish psychonauts Jonas Munk, Jakob Skøtt and Martin Rude. Hints of kosmische, and ambient, flow freely with cosmic jazz vibes on this shape-shifting and ever-changing album for El Paraiso. We are particularly fond of ‘Sojourner’ and ‘Jaiyede Suite pt.1 & 2’. This incredible album is something you need, don’t sleep!


Rude Skøtt Osborn Trio – The Virtue of Temperance

Danish duo Martin Rude & Jakob Skøtt join forces with London mega-talent Tamar Osborn for a playful, experimental and explorative collaborative album. Much like their previous albums, this new project was shaped during impromptu sessions by the duo in the studio of Causa Sui’s Jonas Munk, augmented by Osborn’s overdubs of echo-drenched sax and wah-flute. The addition of Tamar Osborn enhances a collaboration that was already a sensation. Beautiful dreamy grooves, slinky rhythms and ethereal compositions make this album a must-have.


Videodrones – After The Fall

Jakob Skøtt and Kristoffer Ovesen, the duo behind Videodrones, add percussion and guitars to the mix on their fourth album after three records purely composed of synthesisers. With proggy, improvised arrangements and atmospherics that mesh well with Ovesen’s modular synths, ‘After The Fall’ captures the feel of the Seventies. Don’t sleep on this wonderful album!


Quasi Dub Development – QDD 3

Ease your way into the weekend with the sound of QDD and their deep dub mutations layered with bass, trumpet, guitar, drums, horns and self-built instruments. Sofa-friendly music that makes you nod your head.


Wilma Vritra – Grotto

The transatlantic collaboration that produced one of 2019 highlights in Burd, London-based Wilma Archer and West Coast-based Pyramid Vritra return with new music as Wilma Vitra. Their second album, Grotto, features 11 tracks grappling with themes of self-preservation, private reflection and refuge from the world. The lushly orchestrated ‘Grotto’ further builds on the aesthetic they established with ‘Burd’ and is an impressive body of work showcasing the duo’s artistic abilities.


Alai K – Kila Mara 

The Kenya-born, Berlin-based percussionist, vocalist, DJ, producer and “musical witchdoctor” Alai K releases his debut album ‘Kila Mara’, via the ever-excellent On the Corner Records. He mixes techno elements and rhythms with Kenyan percussive styles throughout the album. The fusion of Berlin’s underground futurism and ancient east African rhythms is potent, and this is a joy to hear.


Jembaa Groove – Susuma 

Jembaa Groove is a Berlin-based Afro-Soul group founded by Yannick Nolting and Eric Owusu. Their debut album combines jazzy vibes from Berlin’s uprising underground music scene with traditional West-African sounds from Ghana and Mali, including Highlife, Adowa and WassoulouThe icing on the cake is Owusu’s soothing tones.



Various Artists – Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy Presents Balearic Breakfast Vol:1

Heavenly Recordings recently released a stunning compilation curated by the brilliant Colleen ‘Cosmo’ Murphy featuring tracks from her Balearic Breakfast radio shows on Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM. Her choice of tunes will make you want to dance, as you’d expect from Murphy. Press play and hear top selections by Joan Bibiloni, Fragile, Linkwood Family, and remixes from Ashley Beedle and the late Phil Perry. 



TWÏNS – Something about Alice Coltrane

TWÏNS shares a personal meditation on life, love and loss with his interpretation of the 1971 Alice Coltrane track ‘Something About John Coltrane’ from her album ‘Journey in Satchidananda’. A fine tribute to the beautiful and sublime music of Coltrane.

Buy / name your price

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply