Between The Cracks: New Music Releases You May Have Missed


Hello folks, welcome to your latest Between The Cracks selection. As always no lengthy write-ups as who reads those anyway? We keep it short and to the point because you’re here to listen to the music! Check out our weekly mini-guide below and if you like what you hear, click the links and support the artists.


Maria Chiara Argirò – Forest

Maria Chiara Argirò has unveiled her new album. ‘Forest’ it’s the musician’s first record with new home Innovative Leisure and marks a significant departure in sound from earlier albums. Her atmospheric jazz is well known, but this new project finds her exploring alternative, electronic sounds and vocals in her music. I love how MCA has gone completely leftfield with her sound. If haven’t tuned into Maria you need to now!


9ms – Pleats

Drummers Simon Popp and Florian König showcase their tech-savvy skills on their debut album, Pleats. Soundscapes come from the more dubbier areas of world music and krautrock – some are delicate and meditative; others are deep and heavy. For those who enjoyed Popp’s Sound Measures Part I-V project, this should be a must-have 


Valentina Magaletti – A Queer Anthology of Drums 异鼓选

Ritualistic free-improv from the fantastic drummer, percussionist and composer Valentina Magaletti. Initially released in 2020 on Cafe Oto’s label “Takuroku” with eight tracks solely in MP3 format, A Queer Anthology of Drums 异鼓选 now comes fully remastered via Beijing-based bié Records for vinyl format and expanded to nine songs with the previously unreleased ‘She/Her/Gone’.


More brillance from Magaletti:

La tempesta Colorata

None Corsa

 The Mystic Revelation of Teppo Repo – Kosmoksen erakko

Something is stirring deep within the Finnish forests; using handcrafted instruments like log percussion and an array of flutes, The Mystic Revelation of Teppo Repo channels spiritual jazz, nyabinghi rhythms, and ancient grooves on this deeply meditative album for Sahko Recordings. I could listen to these guys jam endlessly and still feel like it’s not enough.


Red Snapper – Everybody Is Somebody

London nu-jazz/trip-hop band Red Snapper has released its eighth album, ‘Everybody Is Somebody’. The album has been lauded as their best since their 1996 debut, ‘Prince Blimey’. I’d say that this compelling blend of dark funk, hip-hop, dub, afro-jazz, and psychedelic surf interspersed with breathtaking soundscapes may be their finest work to date. After nearly 30 years in the game, Red Snapper continues to surprise and impress.


Seventh Shadow of the Sun – Seventh Shadow of the Sun

“Nature based meditation and communication through cosmic vibrational waves” is how the press release describes this release from the elusive Seventh Shadow of the Sun. It sounded like something right up our alley, and after listening to the opening track, it has us wholly hooked. With their combined forces, SSOFS go from free jazz to ambient to kosmische and psychedelic dub, improvising their way through every genre. Big up to James at The Slow Music Movement for putting us on to this beauty!


Carrtoons – Homegrown

Carrtoons is the project of New York-based producer and multi-instrumentalist Ben Carr. ‘Homegrown’ channels the soulful sounds of Bobby Womack and Shuggie Otis from the 1970s. Guest stars include Fonville, DJ Harrison, Rae Khalil, Nigel Hall, etc. Fans of the likes of Buther Brown and DJ Harrison will lap up Carrtoons’s toe-tapping funky style.


Gianni Brezzo – Tutto Passa

Gianni Brezzo is a studio project/jazz ensemble led by the Cologne-based producer and multi-instrumentalist Marvin Horsch. Aside from producing local bands like Keshavara, Woman” and Xul Zolar, he has been releasing his own EPs and albums. Horsch’s latest project explores his relationship to Italian culture, including research into Italian composers of the 1960s / 1970s such as Piero Umiliani, Stelvio Cipriani, Piero Piccioni and Armando Trovajoli, as well as more recent works by Sven Wunder. For fans of Surprise Chef, El Michels Affair and BadBadNotGood.



Música Macondo – Brasil Nova 

On this hot compilation, Música Macondo presents eight tracks celebrating the rich and percussive legacy of black Brazil and Samba De Coco. Música Macondo founder Tim Garcia curated the collection with DJ Tahira. The comp takes in samba, candomblé, batuques, jazz, folk, and more with an eye toward esoteric dancefloors. This is one badass compilation so big up to Tahira and Garcia for shining a light on this brilliant music. For those who enjoy the rewards of repeated listening, this is the album for you. Discovering the artists who grace Brasil Nova has been a real pleasure.


V/A – Luke Una Presents É Soul Cultura

 Under the banner of “E-Soul Cultura”, featuring tracks from Yusef Lateef, Airto Moreira, Crooked Man, Typesun, Henri Texier, and many more, Luke Una brings together new, old, rare and under-discovered music from around the world. The 15-track compilation is a masterful mixture of exotic tear-jerkers, Afro-spiritual jazz, cosmic Brazilian celestial grooves, machine street soul, lost B-sides, £1 bargain-bin bombs, hidden gems, sweet vocals from heaven, and much more. A top selection from Una featuring fifteen tracks of proper earworms.


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply