New Sounds: ELY paints jazzish soundscapes on debut album

Every now and then, we just get blown away by a new release. And that was the case upon hearing Lefkosia-based musician Henry Walton’s new project ELY.

We chanced upon this magical release via a post on Facebook by Tamar Osborn, and being big fans of everything she’s connected with, we knew there would be a good chance we’d love this new project.

The brief video on Facebook promised much, and now the first three tracks of this album can be heard below for your listening pleasure.

The 7-track collection features improvised instrumentals recorded over three years in London and Lefkosia. While the recordings feature some of the UK’s top Jazz musicians, including Osborn, Sarathy Korwar, and Chris Williams, the album is not a jazz record.

As Walton notes:

“Because I’m not formally trained I basically can’t play the kind of music I want to. I was caught in this musical space between two places. What I could write and what I wanted to write.”

A limited-edition lathe-cut transparent 12″ vinyl is available, so grab the wax or pick up the digital download on ELY’s Bandcamp page.


1. Dust
2. Karpouzie Boogie
3. Family
4. Rising Rising
5. Are You Invested In The Economy Of Love?
6.Levante (feat. Panayotis)
7. Karpouzie Come Down

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply