Composer/bassist Daniel Casimir preps debut solo LP, Boxed In

Photo by Daniel Devlin

Daniel Casimir has announced the details of his debut solo album. 

He’s also shared a track from the LP, listen to the pulsating grooves of ‘Safe (Part 3)’. Boxed In is the musician’s third project for Jazz re:freshed, and will be released on 5th November.

Casimir, who always shines on double bass, is joined by Rosie Turton (trombone), Nubya Garcia (tenor sax), Moses Boyd (drums), James Copus (trumpet), Rebekah Reid (violin), and others.

The album “astutely bridges traditional and contemporary jazz forms with enveloping strings, woodwind & brass arrangements, but under its intricate musical surface seeks to confront some necessary hard truths.”

With a focus on issues surrounding isolation and stereotyping, Casimir’s Boxed In mirrors the experience of navigating the rules of popular culture and the labels typically attributed to black musicians.

Pre-order Boxed In from Bandcamp; check out the artwork and tracklisting below.


1. Safe (Part 1)

2. Boxed In

3. New Waters

4. Your side

5. Safe (Part 2)

6. Get Even

7. Safe (Part 3)

8. Into The Truth

9. The Truth

10. Rewind The Time

11. Outro

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply