Evan Parker unveils new album inspired by William Morris

Photo by Michael Donnelly.

With Evan Parker’s William Morris-inspired album Winns Win set to be released next month, here’s a taster of what’s to come with WW5. Byrd Out will release the album on 1st October.

“Barbarism Once More” was originally the working title for the record, which derived from a more extended quotation from Morris that reflects Parker’s passion, spontaneity, and iconoclastic playing. As a tribute to Parker’s late friend and a leading light of the improv scene, John Russell, who lived on Winns Avenue directly across from the William Morris Gallery, Parker named the album ‘Winns Win’.

Find a quiet spot, put your headphones on, and listen to this unique, serene, minimalistic piece of improvised jazz. A short but enticing listening pleasure is what you will experience.

Head here to pre-order the album.


1. WW1
2. WW2
3. WW3
4. WW4
5. WW5
6. WW6
7. WW7
8. WW8
9. WW9

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply