Between The Cracks: Essential Releases From Across The Musical Landscape

With so much good music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for albums to drop online and go overlooked. No lengthy write-ups as who reads those anyway? We keep it short and to the point because you’re here to listen to the music! Check out our weekly mini-guide below and if you like what you hear, click the links and support the artists.


Moin – Moot!

Moin, the project of Raime’s Joe Andrews and Tom Halstead, has unveiled their debut album. Titled Moot!, the LP sees Andrews and Halstead, joined by long time collaborator and percussionist Valentina Magaletti for the first time. Across the albums eight tracks, the trio span psychedelia, alt-rock, and post-punk mixed with Raime’s signature electronics and sampling practice. Please, do yourself a favour and listen to this exceptional album.


Gerald Cleaver – Griots

A welcome return following his 2020 debut recording as an electronic musician and composer, Gerald Cleaver once again explores the electronic music history of his hometown of Detroit. He combines those influences with his background as a jazz drummer. ‘Griots’ offers plenty of drum-driven instrumentation, dark, twisted beats and lo-fi grooves; it’s an intriguing mixture of delicate and intense sonics. Another excellent release from Cleaver that offers great rewards to those who invest the time in repeated listens.


Mabe Fratti – Será que ahora podremos entendernos

Mexico City-based cellist and composer Mabe Fratti returns with her second album. Layers of cello, synthesizers, guitars, plates, clappings and field recordings such as the birds of La Orduña. Playing between moments of chaos and experimentation on tracks such as ‘Que Me Hace Saber Esto’ to elements of serene, etherealism created by repetitiveness and more straightforward arrangements on tracks such as ‘Nadie Sabe’.​


Super Fu – Super Fu

Following their first EP ‘Cocoons‘ earlier in the year, we now have the main event. The self-titled debut album from Rich Hall, Paul Withey and Sarah Lazenby AKA’ Super FU’, drops on Paper Wave, and it truly is a thing of wonder. Ten tracks span an array of sounds and styles with more than a tip of the hat to what we’d deem to be ‘The B Word’ (Balearic in case you were thinking anything smutty). There are touches of street soul, low slung house, psychedelia and pop that means the long-player is hard to put in a box. 


Haco – Nova Naturo

Japanese artist Haco works with French improvised guitarist Manuel Adnot, drummer/pianist Tetsuji Matsuo and double bassist Makoto Inada on ‘Nova Naturo’. Moving her sound in an exciting new direction, the nine-song LP is underpinned by textured electronics and lush field recordings coupled with her floating tones.


TOMÁ – Atom

From the mind of Austro-Bulgarian musician, Tomá Ivanov aka TOMÁ comes this excellent first album. In this project, he is joined by an array of vocalists for an album that marries avant-garde lo-fi- jazz-psychedelic-pop. Atom is an intriguing, truly eclectic affair with nods to labels like Stones Throw and Brainfeeder. Guests include Ben LaMar Gay and Esther Esrah.


Kurl – Fickle

The latest from Ukrainian trio Kurl walks the line between quirky psychedelic, cool hip-hop beats and refreshing pop. This unique album is a fascinating sonic voyage that genre-blurs soundscapes that might appear complex but work a treat. Highlights include Про повітря and Minute Creatures.


Kozmodrum – Kozmodrum

Croatian organic dance music pioneers Kozmodrum grace us with their long-awaited eponymous album on Rika Muzika. Recorded in three days, the quintet blends jazzy soundscapes with generous helpings of post-rock meets ambient electronica meets tech-house with a percussion twist. With four of the seven tracks clocking in over the six-minute mark, there is much to be enjoyed here. Highlights are the brilliant closing two tracks ‘Wormhoooooooooole…’ and ‘New Magic Ride!’.


Loraine James – Reflection

Some artists play it safe, but not Loraine James. In her second album on Hyperdub, the restlessly creative artist continues the poppier direction that last years’ EP ‘Nothing’ explored, bringing in elements of trap-pop and R&B. Featuring vocals from Eden Samara, Baths, Le3 bLACK, Xzavier Stone, Nova, Iceboy Violet, who compliment James’ diaristic lyrics. High quality and varied album from an artist you need to watch.


Pursuit Grooves – Mo​:​Delic Island

Pursuit Grooves music has that unique and rare quality of keeping you on your toes; you never quite know what direction her music will go next. Just as essential as its predecessor, the album is another colourful mingling of electronic, bass, beats, and soul. An outstanding release from the ever-impressive Pursuit Grooves. Turn up the volume and click play now!


Buy it before it’s gone

SAULT – Nine

Must Listen

Greentea Peng – Man Made

Barton Think – My Last Album

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply