Between The Cracks: New & Notable Releases That Need Your Attention

With so much good music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for albums to drop online and go overlooked. No lengthy write-ups as who reads those anyway? We keep it short and to the point because you’re here to listen to the music! Check out our weekly mini-guide below and if you like what you hear, click the links and support the artists.


Sau Poler – Nocturno 

Sau Poler returns to Atomnation with Nocturno, a debut album that finds him pushing himself beyond his usual confines. Sau Poler is part of a golden generation of Spanish producers alongside the likes of Pional, John Talabot, and Bawrut. He has put out EPs before on Mule Musiq, Modern Obscure Music, and Fort Romeau’s Cin Cin.


Rebecca Vasmant – With Love, From Glasgow

 Glaswegian musician, producer, DJ, and curator Rebecca Vasmant releases her debut LP ‘With Love, From Glasgow’, showcasing the breadth of the incredible jazz talent the city has to offer. The album is an emotive slow-burning affair that is laid-back in both its production and delivery. Along with a host of talented chums, Vasmant delivers one of the best releases of this year so far. Strongly recommended.


João Donato – JID007 

7th chapter in the Jazz is Dead collaboration series in which Brazilian legend João Donato hooks up with Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad. Essential listening from start to finish.



Following his incredible SSFBT Volume I & II releases, jazz bassist and composer Shane Cooper has unveiled his stunning sound journey titled HAPPENSTANCE. The award-winning artist was approached late last year by the Centre For The Less Good Idea to create audio work; Cooper recorded most of the project on a vintage reel-to-reel tape machine inherited from his father. The two-track project sees Cooper drawing on his network in the thriving South African jazz scene; HAPPENSTANCE features a talented array of musicians, including Bokani Dyer (piano), Cara Stacey (bows), Daliwonga Tshangela (cello), Gontse Makhene (percussion), Jonno Sweetman (percussion) and Micca Manganye (percussion). Recorded over two days of free-flowing composition and improvisation, the results – two epic, standalone pieces that embody the spirit of freedom.


Rosie Frater-Taylor – Bloom

London-based singer-songwriter and jazz guitarist Rosie Frater-Taylor cast a spell on us with her recent single, and now she’s back to do the same with her second album. She creates an immersive and wonderfully heartwarming atmosphere with her honeyed vocal tones and breezy jazz, soul, folk-pop soundscapes. Blossoming in her songwriting ‘Bloom’ is an enchanting musical treat.



Various Artists – Club Coco

Bongo Joe presents’ Club Coco’, a sun-drenched outernational Latin and afro rooted music compilation curated by DJ Coco María. Showcasing a community of artists formed around Maria’s weekly Worldwide FM shows, the 11-track release includes music by Nico Mauskovic, La Perla, Meridian Brothers y Grupo Renacimiento, Graham Mushnik, and Coco Maria herself. 



Jeffrey Silverstein – Torii Gates

There’s bliss in Portland, Oregon-based songwriter Jeffrey Silverstein’s music, and every release brings a certain warmth. That’s why we were beyond excited to see he’d just shared a new EP titled ‘Torii Gates’. Keeping the mood at mellow Silverstein is joined once again by Barry Walker Jr. (pedal-steel), Alex Chapman (bass), and Ryan Oxford (production) for another enchanting psychedelic folk journey. Over six tranquil, soft and breezy tracks, the quartet float with an effortless flair.


Tapes – Sauna Research / Aquarium Trousers

Designed for horizontal listening, Tapes returns with Sauna Research / Aquarium Trousers, a two-track endeavour that further showcases his talent. The tracks, both simple yet entirely captivating affairs, soaked in dub with touches of G-funk beats and even vintage Italian library music. Slow-burning and subtle in its production, the new release follows on from recent daydream-like stoned outings for EM and Good Morning Tapes. 


Uffe & Petwo Evans – Double Drop: Cosmic Essentials Vol. 1

 Following on from the Door to the Cosmos, the label’s expansive triple-vinyl compilation. On The Corner has paired up new artists in this series of cosmically twinned EPs. The pair in question is Uffe and Petwo Evans. Uffe traffics in jazz house – dub-tech hitters while Evens serves up sound system-primed, innovative club tracks. Essential!




LV & Joshua Idehen – Somehow

LV and Joshua Idehen are gearing up the release of their Ends album, which is out next month. To keep us ticking over, the trio has dropped’ Somehow’ a bouncy track in which the record’s thumping beat and sound system energy serve as the backdrop for Idehen to deliver a powerful message about depression full of his signature wordplay. The album can’t come soon enough!


And there’s more… 

Ocram Orchestra – Music From The Same Place

Ishmael Cormack – Many Wild Things

Scott Orr – Know U

Freshly re-pressed 

Various Artists – For The Love Of You


Alice Coltrane: Kirtan: Turiya Sings 


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply