Penya releasing new self-titled album, on Liminal Recordings

Great news, everyone. Penya has shared details of a new album.

Marking the debut release on their new label Liminal Recordings, preceding the album is the opening track ‘Elevation’, which you can stream above. The record comes three years on from their last full-length project, 2018’s Super Liminal.

The Penya LP, a press release explains, “reimagines the global music landscape.” The ten-track album is a genre-melting exploration of ancestral rhythms, with the band asking the question:  

How deep do our roots reach into the unseen places that keep us anchored to the real world?  

The genre-defying band enlist several long-term friends, including Tamar Osborn, Maria Zofia Osuchowska, Msafiri Zawose and more as the quartet continue experimenting with new styles and genres.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 6th May release, and check out the stunning artwork by Brazilian artist Bruno Cassapulas and tracklisting below.


  1. Elevation
  2. False Prophets
  3. Trail of Awó
  4. Baba Meyi (featuring Pete Wareham)
  5. The Dazzling One
  6. Therapist (Abukenke’s Dance) (featuring Tamar Osborn)
  7. The Lovers
  8. Poco Pelo
  9. La Mér
  10. The World is full of Gentle Souls (featuring Maria Zofia Osuchowska)
CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply