Between The Cracks: New & Notable Releases That Need Your Attention

With so much good music coming through thick and fast, it’s easy for albums to drop online and go overlooked. No lengthy write-ups as who reads those anyway? We keep it short and to the point because you’re here to listen to the music! Check out our weekly mini-guide below and if you like what you hear, click the links and support the artists.

Błoto – Kwiatostan

Hot on heels of their debut album ‘Erozje’, comes a new full-length from Błoto. Recorded at the newly opened Jassmine club in Warsaw, the quartet while still dabbing in golden era hip-hop and jazz, also take inspiration from house, and juke. Towards the end of the album, Toni Sauna makes a welcomed appearance on Hortensja one of the records standout cuts. As expected Kwiatostan is a supremely crafted and brilliant arranged album played by musicians with the talent to spare.


Takuya Kuroda — Fly Moon Die Soon

New York-based trumpeter Takuya Kuroda releases a brilliant new full-length on First Word Records. Titled ‘Fly Moon Die Soon’, his sixth album consists of nine tracks that traverse uptempo jazz-funk, soulful jazz, groovy hard-bop and hip hop. Alongside his original compositions, he reimagines two classics from Ohio Players (‘Sweet Sticky Thing’ featuring Alina Engibaryan on vocals) and Herbie Hancock’s (‘Tell Me A Bedtime Story’). The highlight for me is the funky jazz swagger of ‘Change’, featuring Corey King on vocal duties. Essential release.


Corto.alto – Live from 435, Vol 5

Acquaint yourself with Glasgow jazz collective Corto.alto, whose new EP Live from 435, Vol 5 is what you need to wind down from a long week. The prolific outfit led by multi-instrumentalist Liam Shortall has been releasing new music every three weeks for over a year. Smooth neo-soul and jazz vibes with fantastic vocals plus killer playing, makes this one very easy on the ears. The best two tracks, ‘Unchecked’ featuring vocalist Luca Manning and the near six-minute extravaganza Is That It? featuring Soweto Kinch bookend this enjoyable release. These folks are ones to watch! Grab it now -out via Worm Disc!


Also on Worm Disc

New Horizons – A Bristol ‘Jazz’ Sound

Blameful Isle – Chimerical

Swedish producer Blameful Isle returns to Urban Waves Records, for his first album in two years. If you’re looking for an album to keep you cosy during the cold winter nights, look no further. Expect to hear, dreamy atmospherics, beautiful melodies and intriguing soundscapes. Fans of Avgenicos Brothers, The Breathing Effect and The Cosmic Range will find much to love here.


Tomoko Omura – Branches Vol. 1

Tomoko Omura new album ‘Branches Vol. 1’ is a continuation of her 2015 ‘Roots’ LP and will be released in two volumes. The first volume includes six tracks of Omura’s compositions/arrangements based on Japanese folklore and traditional music. Branches Vol. 1 is a record to allow yourself the time to sit down with and be absorbed by all the different elements.



Monzanto Sound – Time Lapse EP

The debut EP from this London experimental outfit Monzanto Sound will be a real treat for fans of Portishead and Can and maybe even Modyman. A finely balanced blend of styles that traverses krautrock, psychedelic trip-hop and warm neo-soul are juggled across the five tracks that are soaked in the soaring vocals of Sienna Bordello and bathed in Mali-Baden Powell’s dub aesthetic. The opening track, 23, is firmly rooted in ESG’s post-punk grooves, Lead The Way ​is a neo-soul gem with gorgeous piano progressions and captivating vocals while the standout title track features a wonky cosmic groove topped off by Bordello’s golden tones that steal the show once again. A highly unique and diverse set of songs that are deserving of the widest audience.


Parris – Polychrome Swim

Following his 2 Vultures EP for Trilogy Tapes in 2017, producer and DJ Parris returns to the label with Polychrome Swim. As with his previous output Polychrome Swim has the canny knack of leaving me with a different reaction each time I play it. Opening cut ‘Harajuku Girls’ has a warm, bouncy feel while the slow-burning hypnotic grooves of ‘Yūrei’ offers a mellow mood. The dreamy breakbeat sounds of ‘Aqua Surge’ closes things out. Tip.


HAAi – Put Your Head Above The Parakeets

Put Your Head Above the Parakeets sees HAAi put a whole heap of different styles into the blender and come out with a tasty new musical recipe. Transporting the listener towards the dancefloor the title track has a joyous, hands in the air eyes closed feel to it. Elsewhere, the second track, ‘Rotating in Unison’, embraces positivity, written in response to this year’s enforced slowdown. The final two cuts are peak time club bangers, something HAAi is known for spinning amongst her spellbinding DJ sets. Another brilliant glimpse into the work of the fast-rising artist!


Valentina Magaletti – A Queer Anthology of the Drums

London based drummer and multi-instrumentalist Valentina Magaletti drops a lovely new EP on Café OTO’s label Takuroku. Recorded as part of Takuroku’s download-only series Magaletti takes a minimalist approach, keeping things simple with eight mostly short tracks that features percussive wonders and little droplets of lo-fi analog frequencies proving that sometimes, less is more! Highly recommended.



Pink Siifu & Fly Anakin – Richard Pryor

The first offering from Pink Siifu & Fly Anakin’s upcoming FlySiifu album. The two expressive minds come together, and the results based on hearing ‘Richard Pryor’ will be stunning! Taking a sample from Fein’s 1971 track ‘Stonedage’, the pair effortlessly glide over the infectious Playa Daze production. Instant hit.


slowthai – feel away feat. James Blake & Mount Kimbie

slowthai featuring James Blake on vocals and produced by Mount Kimbie say no more.



Eddie Suzuki – City Of Refuge

Aloha Got Soul continues to dig for those rare Hawillian treasures and comes up trumps once again. Shining a bright light on Eddie Suzuki and his group, New Hawaii, the label highlight two tunes from their 1973 album, High Tide. On one side is ‘City of Refuge’, an island psych-rock rarity that burns blissfully like the Hawaiian sun. On the flip ‘Fly To Waikiki’, is a playful, romanced tune about Hawaii’s most famous destination. Grab your translucent/clear orange vinyl below. Limited to 100 copies.


Lockdown listening:

Katalyst – Nine Lives

Flip Fantazi – Trip

Suso Saiz & Suzanne Kraft – Between No Things

The Twilite Tone – The Clearing

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply