Olindo Records announces new LP from bassist Raul Monsalve, Bichos

Raul Monsalve will release a new album this October.

Raul Monsalve will release a new album via Olindo Records this October.

Titled ‘Bichos’, the album is preceded by the funky lead track ‘Cafunga’, which you can listen to below.

Some of you will know Monsalve as the bassist from Venezuelan band Insolito UniVerso. Along with his Forajidos ensemble, he mixes up a musical cocktail of Afro-Venezuelan rhythms with electronic music, jazz, afrobeat, Latin, and beyond.

Our favourite psych’/jazz/experimental producer Malcolm Catto from the Heliocentrics is behind the boards for much of the album. Among the featured vocalists, you’ll find Luzmira Zerpa of Family Atlantica and the incredible Betsayda Machado. 

Bichos follows the label’s release of Insolito UniVerso‘s recent two-tracker ‘Goyo Tuyero / Jota’ which we feautred on the site.

Olindo Records will release Bichos on October 16th. Pre-order here and check out the artwork and tracklisting below.

Bichos LP



1. Malembe ft. Vasallos del sol
2. Bocón ft. Luzmira Zerpa
3. Cafunga
4. Pulga
5. Palo de agua ft. Afrocódigos
6. Mosquito ft. Betsayda Machada
7. Mariposa ft. Lya Bonilla
8. Los tres venenos ft. Rafa Pino
9. Pa’ los Maestros


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply