Jon Hassell announces new album

Jon Hassell has announced details of a new album. 

Seeing Through Sound (Pentimento Volume Two) is the second instalment of the Ambient music pioneer’s Pentimento series, which he launched in 2018 with the release of Listening To Pictures

He’s also shared the second track from the album, ‘Unknown Wish’. Listen to the song below and check out the album’s trailer above.

Pentimento is the “reappearance in a painting of earlier images, forms, or strokes that have been changed and painted over.”

GoFundMe  crowdfunding campaign was set up in April to raise money for Hassell who recently fallen on hard times due to long-time health issues. Speaking about Hassell, his friend and collaborator Brian Eno said, “I feel that many of us owe him a debt of gratitude, so perhaps making a contribution to this fund is a way we can thank him.”

Jon Hassell - Seeing Through Sound.


1. Fearless
2. Moons Of Titan
3. Unknown Wish
4. Delicado
5. Reykjavik
6. Cool Down
7. Lunar
8. Timeless

Seeing Through Sound (Pentimento Vol. 2) will be released on 24th July on Ndeya. Pre-order from Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply