Kutiman announces new LP, Wachaga

Producer, multi-instrumentalist and filmmaker Kutiman offers the first single from his new album, called Wachaga, which arrives on 17th July.

Bedazzled with Chagga chants and bells by the Machame NKweshoo Women’s Group recorded in Tanzania, the track entitled ‘Copasavana’, encompasses cosmic synth melodies spiralling across borrowed rhythm patterns, which is mirrored by the accompanying trippy visual above.

Recorded in Tanzania in 2014, Wachaga is an audio-visual feast with each of the nine tracks accompanied by a colourful video. The visuals were all created by Kutiman using vintage analogue techniques and gear including a rare 1980s Fairlight CVI video synthesiser, a Videonics equaliser and a Panasonic mx50 video mixer.

The album features his playing combined with field recordings, local musicians and recordings from saxophonist Shlomi Alon, trumpeter Sefi Zisling and trombonist Yair Slutzki.

Before the record drops take a trip with ‘Copasavana’, and get yourself a copy of the Wachaga LP here.

Wachaga vinyl.


1. Tanzania
2. Awake In The Rain
3. Maasai
4. Lost In The Bush
5. Fireflys Before Tomorrow
6. A Giant Snail
7. Rainbow Kilimanjaro
8. Copasavana
9. Ngorongoro

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply