African Head Charge – Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi

African Head Charge - Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi.

The On-U Sound reissue campaign continues with a compilation from archivist Patrick Dokter featuring exclusive tracks from psychedelic-dub duo African Head Charge

The release titled Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi features ten exclusive outtakes from the classic Songs Of Praise and In Pursuit Of Shashamane Land albums expertly sequenced by Dokter to work as an immersive listening experience.

The long-running studio and live collaboration between percussionist Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah and dub producer Adrian Sherwood took its inspiration from Brian Eno’s “vision of a psychedelic Africa” resulting in groundbreaking albums such as Environmental Studies and Off The Beaten Track.

Before the album drops tomorrow, you can preview three tracks below. From tough tribal rhythms, to spacey dubbed-out effects and hypnotic psychedelia  – it’s all happening.

Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi will drop on vinyl on March 6th via On U Sound. You can pre-order the 12” here. Don’t sleep on this one!

African Head Charge - Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi.



Side One


A1. Peace and Happiness

A2. Jungle Law

A3. Learned

A4. One Love, One Heart (Version)

A5. Pitched Fever

Side Two


6. Dervish Dub

7. Dub Some More

8. Disciplined and Dignified

9. Healing Father’s Dub

10. Dub for the Spirits

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply