Jazz legend Abdullah Ibrahim shares new track

Twistedsoul - Abdullah Ibrahim.

Get excited folks! Legendary South African jazz pianist Abdullah Ibrahim has announced the release of his new album ‘The Balance’, out via Gearbox Records this June.

The new 10-song album features his long-time septet Ekaya, a line-up that he’s been recording with since 1983. The Balance follows the 84-year-old musicians 2014 LP The Song is My Story.

Recorded over the course of one day at London’s RAK Studios last November. The lead track Jabula is full of gloriously rich sounds, encased in Ibrahim’s impeccably uplifting chord progressions with lush horn lines, and lilting melodies. It’s bubbly, and bright production will most definitely put a smile on your face.

“We push ourselves out of our comfort zones. So that we can present to the listener our striving for excellence. So that we can engage with our listeners without any barriers of our ego. It’s not jazz. For us, it’s a process of transcending barriers.”Abdullah Ibrahim

Last week the jazz icon received a National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters fellowship.

Listen to the song below, and look out for The Balance out June 28th.

We are very excited!



1. Dreamtime
2. Nisa
3. Jabula
4. Tuang Guru
5. Tonegawa
6. Song For Sathima
7. ZB2
8. Skippy
9. Devotion
10. The Balance


The Balance is out on 28/06 via Gearbox Records. Pre-order from Gearbox or Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply