Vula Viel details new album ‘Do Not Be Afraid’

Twistedsoul ~ Vula VielForward-thinking UK trio Vula Viel is back with a brand new song ‘Do Not Be Afraid’.

The track is their first new release in almost three years and follows up Good Is Good, the debut LP they released back in 2015.

As well as sharing the new track the band has announced the release of their sophomore album, ‘Do Not Be Afraid’ on 25th January 2019, the eight-track LP continues their unique musical journey centred around the beautiful wooden sound of the Gyil (Ghanaian xylophone).

The band’s new set confidently weaves sparse polyrhythms and intricate rhythm structures around bandleader Bex Burch’s Gyil lines and take the instrument’s sound into new territory, with bassist Ruth Goller and drummer Jim Hart introducing a rough, post-punk edge to the band’s sound.

In Burch’s own words: “I have loved making this music. The incredible Dagaare systems which form the foundation have given me the structure on which to write tunes, craft grooves and choose my own meanings. I’ve gone deeper into what moves me in the Dagaare music, the fundamentals – asymmetry, space and chaos. I love how Do Not Be Afraid feels – a totally unusual and unique groove. As musicians, Ruth and Jim are incredible: They bring passion, talent, intuition and a depth that I wouldn’t have access to without them.”

Pre-order a copy of the album here ahead of its 25th January release, and check out the title track and the tracklists below.

This one’s going to be on repeat for a while.



1. Well Come
2. Do Not Be Afraid
3. I Learn
4. Inside Mirror
5. Fire
6. I Love You
7. Breathe the Air
8. We Are


CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply