Lefto showcases the next generation of Belgian jazz artists for new comp on SDBAN ULTRA

Twistedsoul - Lefto

Belgian-based record label SDBAN ULTRA get ready to drop their latest groove-heavy compilation ‘Lefto presents Jazz Cats’, this October.

Compiled by Belgian DJ and eclectic connoisseur Lefto, ‘Jazz Cats’ showcases the next generation of Belgian jazz artists including the psychedelic jazz-fusion collective BRZZVLL, the outrageous BeraadGeslagen, radical experimentalists Steiger, electro-acoustic piano trio De Beren Gieren and futuristic funksters, STUFF.

Lefto is pleased to share the first track from the album, Glass Museum’s ‘Tribal Coffee’. Taken from the 2018 album ‘Deux’, Tournai duo Glass Museum (pianist Antoine Flipo and drummer Martin Grégoire) create a wild, generous pairing of jazz, rock and Mediterranean colours. ‘Deux’ (2018), a tribute to Flipo’s classical background and Grégoires adventures in postrock, merges left and right, black and white, darkness and light. Gregoire, who’s also a live-member of dance-acts Ulysse and DC Salas, injects the high-level interplay with a relentless, thick groove as powerful as a blow to the face.

“Undeniably, jazz has seen a revival in the last 5 to 10 years,” says Lefto. “It was never far away, be it hip hop, trip hop, dance music – it was always present.”

‘Lefto presents Jazz Cats’ is out on October 19th, so for now get a taste with Tribal Coffee’ above and check out the tracklist below.



1. SCHNTZL – ‘Lindbergh’
2. BRZZVLL – ‘De Vlijtige Kip’
3. 2 Times Nothing – ‘Fuckbox’
4. LABtrio – ‘Elevator’
5. Glass Museum – ‘Tribal Coffee’
6. Steiger – ‘Part One’
7. De Beren Gieren – ‘Oude Beren’
8. Black Flower – ‘Artifacts’
9. Commander Spoon – ‘Introducing – Part III’
10. Compro Oro – ‘Bombarda’
11. STUFF. – ‘strata’
12. Mazzle – ‘Hikari Park’
13. Madame Blavatsky – ‘Steak In The Neck’
14. Collective Conscience – ‘Takeoff’
15. BeraadGeslagen – ‘Suikerbeat’
16. Pudding oO – ‘Hiza Hiza Hey’


Lefto presents Jazz Cats is out on 19/10 via SDBAN ULTRA – pre-order from Rough Trade or Bandcamp.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply