Track By Track Guide: Emanative – Earth

track by track album guide

Led by drummer and producer Nick Woodmansey, Emanative have created a cosmic strand of multi-cultural UK jazz with African, Indian and Middle Eastern influences unlike any other act on the UK scene. Following on from their previous record on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood label back in 2015, Earth celebrates the diverse backgrounds of it’s galaxy of contributors, which includes Idris Ackamoor of US spiritual jazz legends The Pyramids, Afrobeat legend Dele Sosimi (previously of Fela Kuti’s Africa 80), key protagonist from Manchester’s jazz scene Nat Birchall, India-raised Ninja Tune artist and Shabaka Hutchings-collaborator Sarathy Korwar, Ibibio Sound Machine player Ben Hadwen, Benjamin Page from RocketNumberNine, The Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto and Flying Lotus collaborator Ahu.

Acting as a taste of what’s to come from the forthcoming album, Emanative guide us through the new project.

You can also stream two tasters from the LP in the form of ‘Spice Routes’ featuring saxophonist Nat Birchall above and ‘New Day’ featuring the sweet tones of Ahu below.

Check the guide and get excited about the album!

1.  Dawn Child (Sunrise)

The album has a cyclic form – this track represented the album’s birth and grew from an improvisation by sarod player William.

2. Heaven’s Mirror feat. Idris Ackamoor (saxophone & flutes) & David Molina (flutes) of The Pyramids

Inspired by author Graham Hancock and his writings about lost civilisations and the connection between constellations, sacred sites and holy places. On this track, we connect Egypt, Ethiopia, Thailand, Mexico and South America.

3. Ìyáàmi feat Dele Sosimi (vocals) Dele

This is for motherhood, my physical mother, Mother Earth, mother nature… our irreplaceable, priceless jewels.

4. Spice Routes feat Nat Birchall (saxophone)

An improvised groove based session that had influences from Africa, Middle East and Asia – hence the title.

5. Sandhyavandanam

Sandhyavandanam is one of the oldest prayers or ceremonies in world religion with a ritual performed three times a day. This track begins like a prayer, building up with a meditative flow. It encapsulates what the album is about.

Emanative - Earth LP


6. Egosystem (Solar Noon)

A reflection of what’s happening in the world right now.

7. Reflection feat Nat Birchall (saxophone) & Liz Elensky (vocals)

Nat is one of the UK’s iconic deep-jazz musicians. Whilst recording he was leafing through a book on Sun Ra – where he talked about intentionally getting his musicians to play loose and out of time and that provided suitable inspiration – and the perfect loose groove.

8. New Day feat Ahu (vocals)

An upbeat positive and spiritual groove.

9. Heaven’s Mirror (Reprise)

The track is built around a metronomic synth pulse by Ben from RocketNumberNine.

10. Minute’s To Midnight For This Planet

The title is taken from Sun Ra poetry/ philosophy – along with Don Cherry, Pharaoh Sanders and Afro-jazz musicians such as Johhny Dyani – he is one of my main influences.

11. Raga Requiem (Dusk)

Science tells us ‘dead means dead’, religion preaches heaven. Hell, afterlife and everlasting spirits. Polar opposites leaving us floating…



Earth is out 22/06 via Jazzman Records – pre-order it here. New Dat Day ft Ahu is out today – buy here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply