Sons Of Kemet announce new album Your Queen Is a Reptile, and share first taste

Sons Of Kemet

Shabaka Hutchings creative output shows no sign of slowing down. From his stunning work with The Comet Is Comet and Sons Of Kemet to last years collaboration with Hieroglyphic Being and Sarathy Korwar onto acting as the musical director for Brownswood Recordings recently released We Out Here compilation the much-lauded artist visionary cup is overflowing.

Next up for Hutchings is the highly-anticipated new album from Sons Of Kemet called ‘Your Queen Is A Reptile’.

The nine-song project addresses the British Monarchy and offers ‘alternative queens’, ranging from Shabaka’s great-grandmother to Baroness Doreen Lawrence. “Our Queens are just like us, and we are human. We need new royalty. Your Queen Is A Reptile.” Featuring the iconoclastic mix of Theon Cross on tuba, Tom Skinner and Eddie Hick on double drums and Hutchings on tenor saxophone, the album celebrates the exploration of identity within the Caribbean diaspora within the UK and brings a unique sound to London’s current underground jazz scene.

Get a taste of the forthcoming album below with ‘My Queen is Harriet Tubman’, a blistering and powerful number masterfully crafted by the explosive jazz outfit.

If the album’s as good as this track (pretty sure it will be), we’re in for a real treat peeps!



1. My Queen Is Ada Eastman
2. My Queen Is Mamie Phipps Clark
3. My Queen Is Harriet Tubman
4. My Queen Is Anna Julia Cooper
5. My Queen Is Angela Davis
6. My Queen Is Nanny Of The Maroons
7. My Queen Is Yaa Asantewaa
8. My Queen Is Albertina Sisulu
9. My Queen Is Doreen Lawrence



Your Queen Is A Reptile will be released on Impulse! on March 30th – pre-order here.

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply