Art Yard release Sun Ra’s Lost Ark Series as double 10”

Sun Ra

London based record publishing company Art Yard continues to dig deep into Sun Ra’s archives. Initially released on two separate 10″s back in 2010/13 Art Yard have put both volumes of Lost Arkestra into one package. Volume 1 features “Along Came Ra,” a previously unissued live track with June Tyson on vocals recorded in Paris in 1983. The flip features two previously unreleased cuts from the legendary Disco 3000concert tapes are on the flip. Volume 2 lifts three fine selections from the Sub-Underground Saturn LPs. “Love Is For Always” and the driving, roots-y “The World Of Africa” come from 1974’s Temple U; while the myth-science poetics of “Space Is The Place/We Roam The Cosmos” comes from the 1975 What’s New set. Listen to “Along Came Ra” and peep the tracklist, below.


Side 1

1. Alone Came Ra
2. The Sky Is S Sea Of Darkness When There Is No Sun To Light The Way
3. We Travel The Spaceways

Side 2

1. Love Is For Always
2. The World Of Africa
3. Space Is The Place, We Roam The Cosmos


Lost Ark Series Vol 1 & 2‘ is out – from Norman Records or Phonica.

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply