Two From DEEK: Jesse Hackett – Dropout Boogie (Captain Beefheart cover)/ Laura Groves – Gamma Ray Blue

DEEK regulars Laura Groves, Jesse Hackett, Never, Bullion & Nautic (Groves, Bullion and FKA Twigs’ guitarist Tic) line up next to Georgia (appearing as Geller), Raisa Khan of Micachu & The Shapes, Raf Daddy (2 Bears) and Tapes to give us covers of D’Angelo, The Pixies, Captain Beefheart, Thundercat, Sade and more.

The compilation, Extraordinary Renditions is out May 27th via Bullion’s Deek Recordings. Watch Jesse Hackett go back in time to join Beefheart’s band for a lively version of Dropout Boogie. Or for a softer landing, try Laura Groves’ sweet take on DIY pop magic Gamma Ray Blue.

You can watch the video for “Dropout Boogie” above, and stream Laura Groves Cleaners From Venus cover below. Check out the artwork for the album after, and the tracklist beneath that.


Extraordinary Renditions by Various Artists


Extraordinary Renditions Tracklist:

1. Laura Groves – Gamma Ray Blue
2. Gwilym Gold – The Root
3. Jesse Hackett – Dropout Boogie 03:46
4. Bullion – Heaven Is a Wonderful Place
5. Nilufer Yanya – Hey
6. Never – The Real Thing
7. Geller & Kaya – Youth of Today
8. Nautic – Without You
9. Westerman – Friends
10. Tapes – Held The Hand
11. Raf Daddy – By Your Side
12. Raisa Khan – Seasons In The Sun



‘Extraordinary Renditions’ compilation is out May 27th via Deek Recordings (pre-order)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply