Album: Beatspoke – The Journey Is The Destination

Beatspoke - The Journey Is The Destination

Via BBE Music:

Beatspoke is a Future Vintage Soul duo based in Madrid Spain, consisting of singer/ spoken word artist Sarah Gessler and producer/beat maker Josh Fontan. The group debuted in 2009 with No Rush, a full length record which was both a preview of their uncompromising commitment to honest, vulnerable, forward thinking music, as well as a personal manifesto championing Slow Living. The release shook the New-Beats / Soul community with its original voice, no-compromise attitude, and skill with which they struck the perfect balance between edgy, contemporary sound design and nostalgic, elegant classic Soul aesthetics. Upon arrival Spinner Magazine Spain dubbed them the “best new act”, French radio Grenouille called the LP the “best debut”, while the internationally renowned music curator and host of BBC 6 radio, Mr. Gilles Peterson, simply said “the world is better because of it.” Galvanised by this generous reception Beatspoke joined the ranks of globally recognised heavyweights at Mr. Peterson’s WorldWide Festival and then proceeded to tour internationally; to date sharing stages with the likes of Bonobo, Diplo, Alice Russell, DJ Vadim, Dam Funk, Simbad, Theo Parrish, Wax Tailor and many more. Beatspoke recently dropped their sophomore LP,  Journey Is The Destination, which can be best described as a carefully curated collection of meaningful moments captured in soulful high- fidelity. The new batch of compositions are a beautifully orchestrated symphony of contrasts: futuristic, rootsy, dusty, yet sleek, robust, but delicate, dusky, yet hopeful. With their new release the duo plan to introduce their fully upgraded live show, which as always, will showcase a combustible concoction of soundscapes derived from beat machines, self made apps, and analog synths; the whole thing powered by their almost telepathic on- stage improvisational exchange, and topped off with vastly soaring vocals.



01. Seed of Doubt (feat. Joseph Derteano)
02. Untended
03. Beg & Plead
04. Sink or Swim
05. Solid Intention (feat. Metropolis & Pumpkin)
06. Joy
07. Never Enough
08. Fading Fast (feat. Pumpkin)
09. Lately (feat. RQM)
10. Fortress (feat. Sneaky)



Beatspoke’s The Journey Is The Destination is out now (buy)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply