Listen To The Lo-fi Funk Sounds Of Doug Hream Blunt

Doug Hream Blunt - Fly Guy

Doug Hream Blunt, the elusive musician, and songwriter is about to release his second album “My Name Is Doug Hream Blunt”, by way of a 10-track project curated by Luaka Bop Records.

The little known Blunt learned to play music at the age of 35, by taking an adult class in the late 1980s. The class was organised by a high school music teacher and his wife and held in their small garage in the Golden Gate Park neighborhood of San Francisco. The other students in the class became his band members while his teacher joined on vibes and his wife on bass. To promote his music, Doug would play acoustic, solo shows for patients and elderly people at a hospital where he worked as a nurse’s aid. On a few occasions, he also brought the other students together to play on the City Visions Public Access television show.

At that time, Doug met Victor Flaviani an aspiring record producer and they recorded Blunt’s only album, “Gentle Persuasion,” in a matter of days.

Ahead of the album release we can sample his lo-fi yet smooth, funk style with”Fly Guy” and “Ride The Tiger” below.


01. Fly Guy
02. Gentle Persuasion
03. Whiskey Man
04. Break Free
05. Ride The Tiger
06. Caribbean Queen
07. Big Top
08. Trek
09. Love Land
10. Fly Guy (Instrumental)

Luaka Bop will release ‘My Name Is Doug Hream Blunt’ on October 16th (buy)

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply