Album Of The Week: Flako – Natureboy


Returning with a full-length album, Natureboy (after 2012’s Enclosure EP), Flako takes us on a journey to a new musical identity. Recorded in a few short months in 2014, ‘Natureboy’ retains the influence of South Amercian soul, folk and cumbia he absorbed as a child growing up with German and Chilean parentage. Nevertheless, it’s also an album fully created with live instrumentation, synthesizers and vocals, a fresh body of work primarily exploring his interest in the natural world.

Building on the kaleidoscopic mix of digital tones and enveloping instrumentation of the ‘Eclosure’ EP, the musical influences scattered throughout ‘Natureboy’ stretch from Vangelis to George Duke to Hermeto Pascoal.

It is underlined by the constant presence of Flako’s own voice, which weaves an abstract narrative throughout the album. Though he performed almost all of the music on ‘Natureboy’, he drafted in composer and arranger Miguel Atwood-Ferguson to play strings on one of the album’s many stand out tracks, Twelve O’Clock Shadow’.

Explaining the title, Flako says: “I’m not religious. Nature is the only thing I really believe in. The sun and water are the two things that I find worth worshipping. There’s nothing without the sun, and there’s nothing without water.”

When it’s all said and done it’s not hard to “see” that Natureboy will be high on many music blog’s year-end list. I highly suggest you grab this album now, get it HERE. Check a few highlights below.  Also, we recommended you check out Flako’s track by track guide for The Clash magazine.

Flako - Natureboy LP

01. The Opening / Purple Trees
02. Shipibo Icaro
03. Gelis
04. Spice Melange
05. Kuku
06. Solo For Chloë
07. Shape Of Things To Come
08. Som Da Aura
09. Twelve O’Clock Shadow (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
10. Lyrebird
11. Golden High
12. Payaso
13. Who Do You Think You Are
14. For You (Reprise)
15. With Me Now (feat. Dirg Gerner)
16. The Odd & Beautiful

CF Smith

Write for Music Is My Sanctuary & Stereofox.

Leave a Reply