Thom Yorke Unveils Surprise New Album ‘Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes’

thomyorkeThom Yorke has released his second solo album, Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, via BitTorrent. The eight-track album is Yorke’s solo follow-up to 2006’s The Eraser, although Yorke has released two albums with Radiohead during that time, as well as 2013’s Amok as part of Atoms For Peace. The singer has strongly criticised services like Spotify and more generally the major label stranglehold on the music industry, so as “an experiment” he is distributing this album through BitTorrent. In a message shared on the Radiohead website Yorke says of this distribution model:

“If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.”

Earlier this week, Yorke and Godrich both posted a picture of a mysterious, white vinyl, with fans speculating if it was for Yorke’s album or a new Radiohead project. Now we know.

Buy the record on vinyl or digitally via BitTorrent here.


Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes track list:

1. “A Brain in a Bottle”
2. “Guess Again!”
3. “Interference”
4. “The Mother Lode”
5. “Truth Ray”
6. “There Is No Ice (For My Drink)”
7. “Pink Section”
8. “Nose Grows Some”

CF Smith

Permeating your ears with good music.

Leave a Reply